1 2 Previous Next 19 Replies Latest reply on Mar 15, 2010 9:47 PM by sackling

Database creation Theory

sackling

Title

Database creation Theory

Hello,

I work for a company that makes jewelry. They need to easily be able to order different stones, and gold/silver as well as the labor required per item number.

I am very new to databases so I need some help just figuring out how to create this. Since there are a bunch of different stones to order depending on the product...Should I make a seperate field for each type of stone.. or should there be one filed called stones and each entry within it would be a different stone?

the problem I see is that I have to type the style number in a field. so I would have the style number and it would need to be matched up with 7 different stones for example.

Any assistance is greatly appreciated! Thanks,

Rob

• 1. Re: Database creation Theory
          sackling

I have all the stones imported seperatly from an excel file. the fields are:

Stone, Shape, Size, cost per carrat, Stones per strand, price per carrat, carat per stone, Price per stone.

This all looks good. However I need to relate a certain quantity of stones to a seperate style number (representing a necklace for instance) How is this done?

• 2. Re: Database creation Theory
            mrvodka

You should have a table that has multiple records for what makes up a piece of jewelry. Lets take for example: Ring1.

Well Ring1 could have the following Parts:

2gm Platinum

.5 ct Diamond

etc etc.

I dont know enough about the jewelry industry to make a great example but basically, an item has multiple parts that make it up with a specific quantity.

The specific inofrmation about that part should be in a materials table.

So your parts table should probably store the Item ID, Qty, and the Material ID.

• 3. Re: Database creation Theory
              sackling

Ok so.. If I understand correctly I will need 2 tables.