4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 25, 2010 10:54 AM by ValerieFusco

Database design modification

ValerieFusco

Title

Database design modification

I am trying to add some functionality to an existing database. The company I am working with is adding on to their capabilities, and will be providing additional services both to their own customers as well as to customers from other companies. I am relatively new to database design, although I have worked with Filemaker for several years. Here are the issues:

For new services for the company's customers, I want to be able to use some data (name, address, etc.) from an existing Filemaker table. But, I also need a way to enter that data for clients from other companies. I thought I would build a table with all of the required fields for the new services (Table B), and then have a script in the existing table (Table A) to create a new record and copy the appropriate field contents into Table B. I don't know how to define the key(s) in Table B or the relationship between the tables since Table B will contain some records that have connections to Table A and others that are unrelated.

I would appreciate any guidance that you can give me. Thanks so much!

• 1. Re: Database design modification
          philmodjunk

Instead of copying data, you may want to link to it instead. This is much simpler to set up and then edits in the source table are automatically shown in your second table.

If you truly do need to copy the data, there are auto-enter calculations and looked up value field options that do not require a script to copy the data from one table into another.

Both approaches start with the same requirement, a relational link between the two tables in Manage | Database | Relationships.

Once you have a relationship, linked data can be shown simply by adding fields to your layout from the related table. To copy the data, you'd use field options in Manage | Database | Fields for each such field to copy the data over.