1 2 3 Previous Next 35 Replies Latest reply on May 24, 2012 9:01 AM by GuyStevens

Database of Monthly Bills

peanuts

Title

Database of Monthly Bills

I'm having trouble creating one database for my monthly finances. Do I use "LAYOUTS" for this or what? I would like ONE DATABASE to show how I pay my bills each month. In Bento it was pretty easy by creating a "LIBRARY." Or should I try a specific template from within FileMaker Pro?

Looking for suggestions please. And yes, I'm fairly new with FileMaker Pro. I'm used to Bento. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

• 1. Re: Database of Monthly Bills
          GuyStevens

First you would make tables. You do this by going to File - Manage - Database.

Then when your tables are dond you can set up relationships.

Then you make layouts that are based on your tables.

If you you could open a starter solution to see if one of them might work for you. And else you can look at them to see how they are made and then you can make your own database.

• 2. Re: Database of Monthly Bills
            rgnant_1

It is easy to confuse a TABLE and a LAYOUT.  Let's say, for example, (not being sexist) that you make an inventory of everything in our kitchen.  These items would be listed in your TABLE.  You might have a name for the item, the date purchased, the cost, where you bought it, where it is stored, etc.

You can visually show some of all of this information on a LAYOUT.  You could have one layout that would show only the item and where it is stored.  You could have another LAYOUT that shows the item and where you bought it along with the cost.  The point is that LAYOUTs draw on fields that are in a TABLE.

In your case, you probably want a TABLE that would show information about your expenses.  Something like:

Type of Expense (Heat, utilities, food, car, etc,)

Description of what is included in the expense

Date due

How paid (check, debit, auto deduct, etc.)

and so on.