2 Replies Latest reply on Dec 15, 2014 7:23 PM by FentonJones

database set up

PamelaSnyder

Title

database set up

Is there a way to auto generate records from a "mother" record.  

I am asking for reagent tracking and quality control where a stock of a specific reagent is aliquoted into many (say 20 - 30) so that I can have multiple unique records - that retain information from that original "mother" record.

Not a programmer - apologize for inventing my own terminology

• 1. Re: database set up
          mchancevet@gmail.com

Hi Pamela,

I am not a professional so if my reply is not helpful or innacurate I hope another will step in. 

It sounds like you have a Parent(reagent)>Child(aliquots) table structure. It seems likely this is going to be a one to many relationship where one reagent record will be related to many aliquot (records).

Your Parent table should have an ID field (a professional has recomended a calc field (get(uuid)) ** to me as this will add robustness if you need to go mobile /offline/ synchronisation  etc later. **(remember to check the calc is set to output text on the bottom left of the specify dialogue box)

Your Child table should have its own ID field as above but also a field (text) that will contain the ID of the parent above (you could call it fIDReagent (for foreign ID from the Reagent table).

Create your relationship such that Reagent::ID = Aliquot::fIDReagent. 

Depending on your needs you may like to create your aliquot records via a portal. If so it may be suitable for you to tick the "create records in this table via the relationship" box for the Aliquot(child) table.