8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 21, 2013 2:35 PM by DranLang

Date and Time Range

DranLang

Title

Date and Time Range

Good morning everyone!  I've been using FM now for 5 months and haven't encountered a range search until now.  One of our engineer from the other office wants to have a search button where in he wants to specify the date range and time range to search through hundreds and thousands of records with one click.  SO I set up a 2 calendar pulldown (1 for start date and 1 for end date) and 2 textbox where he can type in the Time start and Time end for his search which are all the 4 of them are set as global fields.   Then in my script I have :

Enter Find Mode[]

Set Field[TABLE::Date; TABLE::StartDate & ".."& TABLE::EndDate]

Set Field[TABLE::Time; TABLE::TimeStart & ".." &TABLE::TimeEnd]

Perform Find[]

But this won't actually search properly if I specify a date range and time range close to the changing of days like the range for October 17, 2013 to October 18, 2013 where the time range is from 23:55:00 of October 17, 2013 to 00:10:00 of October 18, 2013.

I'm not sure what's wrong or I'm missing some more steps in my script to have my search perform properly.  Is it also possible to combine the date with time in one textbox?

Thanks everyone, any help/ ideas is deeply appreciated.

• 1. Re: Date and Time Range
          philmodjunk

I don't see why your script would fail if the Date and time fields are both of the correct data type.

Are you sure that 10 minutes after midnight on October 18 shouldn't actually be 10 minutes after midnight on October 19 and thus the expected record wasn't found?

Is it also possible to combine the date with time in one textbox?

Well, it wouldn't be a field of type text, but you can replace your date and time fields with a single timestamp field that combines date and time in the same field.

Then you could use: