7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 29, 2010 1:33 PM by philmodjunk

Date calculation help.

sweetcuda

Title

Date calculation help.

I am very new to FMP and am learning as I construct this database so any help is appreciated.

I have a course table that has Start and End date fields. I have a Calculation field in that table that totals the days trained. I have a Team table that has two calculations for Total training days that just Sums up the Daystrained, and another calculation that subtracts the total days trained from the days alloted 26. 

Here is the thing I want to be able to do with these calculations but am not sure of how to do it. I want to have it calculate for the specific year. So each year it will start over calculating up the total days trained, and the total remaining days from 26 alloted days.

Help please.

• 1. Re: Date calculation help.
          philmodjunk

These calculations use the Sum function to sum up data in a related table? (or the same table linked in a self join relationship)

If so, you can include another field with the a calculation that returns the year to limit your calculation to all matching records with the same year.

• 2. Re: Date calculation help.
            sweetcuda

Yes, I had them sum the data in the table and related table.

I had the sum be in the Team table because I figured that is what I was trying to get the amounts for.

So in my team table it looks like this:

Team ID (number, indexed, auto-enter serial)

TeamName (Text, indexed)

AllottedTrainingDays (number, auto-enter Data, Numeric Only, Allow Override) : this is the total amount per    Team allowed 26 total training days, this number stays the same each year).

TotalDaysTrained (Calculation, unstored Sum(CourseTbl::Days;))

TotalRemainingTrainingDays (Calculation, unstored, = AllottedTrainingDays - TotalDaysTrained)