10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 16, 2015 1:25 PM by philmodjunk

Date calculations in filemaker

simonbucknall

Title

Date calculations in filemaker

Hi,

Apologies for the question but i am new to file maker and not familiar with databases in general so my question is probably fail simple/obvious. 

I have a database with a table containing customers bicycles details. This is linked to a table with bike service details using a unique bike code. The service details table has the date the service took place and and the bicycle details table has the service interval for the bike. I am trying to write a script that will generate an excel spreadsheet that i can use with MailChimp to email out service reminders for customers whose bikes are due a service.

The service interval in the bicycle details table is just an number e.g. 5 so was going to add 5*30 to the service date and see if it was less than the current date if so reminder is due. or set another 'service due' field with a 0 or 1. I thought the date would be simpler as the script could just perform a find on the table.

My initial thought was to somehow get the last service date in to a field in the Bicycle details table and then do the calculation from there but i don't know how to do that as a bike has several services and only need the date for the last one. 

As you can see i am somewhat confused as to the best solution to this so all help/thoughts are very welcome.

Many thanks

Simon

• 1. Re: Date calculations in filemaker
          philmodjunk

The service interval in the bicycle details table is just an number e.g. 5

Does that "5" represent 5 months?

• 2. Re: Date calculations in filemaker
            simonbucknall

Hi Phil,

Yes it does and the variable can be adjusted by the user.

Simon

• 3. Re: Date calculations in filemaker
              philmodjunk

"the variable can be adjusted" means that the number of months specified as your "interval" can be adjusted?