2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 22, 2010 11:48 AM by JonathanWhite

Date field calculation problems

JonathanWhite

Title

Date field calculation problems

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the forum and Filemaker.  Although I'm new to Filemaker, I've been using Lotus Approach and other DB's for many years, so I'm not a total noob.  I have a problem that's driving me nuts.

Here are my(simplified) DB parameters: Two tables: Transactions (parent) and Lineitem(child) related through Transaction number field.  Relationship allows creation and deletion of lineitem records.  the layout uses Transactions fields with lineitem as a portal field.

My problem is this: I need to do a calculation to either place or not place todays date in a date field in the lineitems table.  I tried using the Estimate field in the Transaction table as the conditional source in the formula: If(transactions::Estimate="X";"";Get(currentdate)).  It won't evaluate it no matter what I do.  I've tried text w/ yes?no, text w/x or blank, number format with 1 or 0.  The lineitem table ignors any data in the Transactions table.  I've even tried just placing the date from the Transactions date field as a calculation, it won't get the data.

As a workaround I've created an estimate field in the Lineitem table.  That evaluates correctly but it will only place the date in the first record in the portal and leaves the subsequent records blank.  That dosen't work.  This has me baffled.  All of the other relational fields work fine, only the date fields have problems.  The only data manipulation that seems to work is autoentry of todays date.

I hope that someone can tell me what I'm doing wrong or if there is a problem with the program.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Date field calculation problems
          philmodjunk