5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 21, 2010 11:48 AM by Pam

Date Range

Pam

Title

Date Range

Is there anyway in a script that one can call up a report that reflects a particular date range? I want to run a report showing 'service date' that falls between a specified date range. (Without having to create global fields in another incidence of the table)

I seem to remember that in Access,one would run a query with calculated fields for 'start' and 'end' date (which the user would input).

I am using FileMaker Pro v10 on a Mac and am complete novice at both.

I last designed a DB on Access for Windows over 7 years ago. My script writing skills are v limited.

Would appreciate any advice. P

• 1. Re: Date Range
          LaRetta_1

Pam wrote:

(Without having to create global fields in another incidence of the table) ... I seem to remember that in Access,one would run a query with calculated fields for 'start' and 'end' date (which the user would input).

You need global field for user input or allow the User to type directly into the service date itself; how else can you specify the value for the range?  You can use globals which are available in ANY table (even if not related).  I'm unsure where you get that they must be 'in another instance of the table.'

If your range for the service date is consistent, for instance if it is always the prior month then you can script it without User input at all.  So please tell us what kind of ranges you wish and if you want user input.  I can make several suggestions but it would depend upon your specific needs.

• 2. Re: Date Range
            Pam

Thank you for your response.

I am trying to teach myself with the aid of a manual. The only reference I found for date ranges, was to set up a global field, which they show to set up using a related table.  I have probably misunderstood.