5 Replies Latest reply on May 3, 2011 3:18 PM by philmodjunk

Date Range search and post count

HiroshiTakeuchi

Title

Date Range search and post count

Hello: 

I am new to FileMaker and DB in general... I am trying to get the following data to show in the following way... 

I have a field where I have a History of dates and times: (example)

5/3/2011-9:21:59 AM

4/18/2011-9:26:31 AM

3/28/2011-9:10 AM

3/13/2011-10:54:02 AM

3/15/2011-6:29:11 AM

3/5/2011- 6:21:09 PM

3/5/2011-6:13:31 PM

2/7/11

2/3/11

What I want is to have a different field (example: MoCntMar) which should count the lines that have fall within the month of March, and then display that count in this field. (in this example would be 5)

I have tried a few things such as "IF" command but have not been able to get it to work... 

Any help will be really appreciated!

Hiroshi Takeuchi

• 1. Re: Date Range search and post count
          philmodjunk

Is this a field of type text or of type TimeStamp?

• 2. Re: Date Range search and post count
            HiroshiTakeuchi

The History field is an "Edit Box" in which I am adding the date stamps manually

• 3. Re: Date Range search and post count
              philmodjunk

An "edit box" is layout format designation. What I am asking is what data type was assigned when you defined the field. Open Manage | Database | Fields and check to see if this field is of type text or type timestamp.

I suspect that this is a field of type text--which will complicate the issue.

Are you making one entry per field or are you making multiple entries in the same field?

If you are making multiple entries into one field, this will be one of the first things we'll need to change here.

• 4. Re: Date Range search and post count
                HiroshiTakeuchi