9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 28, 2009 12:19 PM by cosmoqurries

Date Ranges

cosmoqurries

Title

Date Ranges

I am new to FM10 - I have been converting databases for our clients, but I am not very fluent in script writing.

I have a database with one table. I want to create a main page that gives users an option to select a season. After clicking on a season, a page would show all the program numbers listed by the selected season air dates. The table is called Table, the two fields that are needed to show are: ShowNumber and AirDate.

The main page will show the following:

Season Three (2008-2009)

Season Two (2007-2008)

Season One (2006-2007)

I can't write the script to successfully pull out the Programs/Shows using data range calculation. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

CL

• 1. Re: Date Ranges
          mrvodka

You should define when the start of a season is, perhaps in a table for the shows or consistent season.

To find a date range in a script is as such:

Enter Find Mode []

Set Field [YourDate; ">=" & $StartDate]

New Request

Set Field [YourDate; "<=" & $EndDate]

Perform Find

Your $StartDate and $EndDate can be set in a Set Variable step when you figure out how to grab the range that you want.

• 2. Re: Date Ranges
            cosmoqurries

Thank you for your quick reply.

I am thinking of writhing this script for the Season 3 layout - creating three different layouts, all together.

Do you recommend I set $StarDate to Date(01;01;2008) and $EndDate to Date(12;31;2009)

• 3. Re: Date Ranges
              philmodjunk
                 You should also be able to use Set Field [table::datefield, $StartDate & "..." & $EndDate] in a single find request. This didn't work back in the days of FMP 5.5 but seems to work just fine in newer versions.
              • 4. Re: Date Ranges
                cosmoqurries

I have used Set Field [table::datefield, Date(01;01;2009) & "..." & Date(12;31;2009)] but it won't take it - it requests an operator.