8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 10, 2012 10:47 AM by MoOsman

Delete record script

MoOsman

Title

Delete record script

Hi, 

So I'm a beginner in File Maker, but thanks to these online forum I'm advancing. My issue right now is finding a script to delete SOME fields within a record and update them from an Excel sheet. The current script I have deletes everything and inster the updates. 

Is there a way to say delete all records except "Person Photo and Notes" for example? Please help (^^,)

Below is my current script

if [$$fmauto_1065090 <> 1 or Get ( ScriptParameter )]

Go to Layour ["Complete Details" (Details)]

Freeze Window

Show All Records

Delete All Records [No dialog]

Import Records [No dialog; Source: "fulldata.xlsx": Worksheet: "District 1": Add: Mac Roman]

Set Variable [$$fmauto_1065090: Value:1]

Go to Layour [original layout]

End If

• 1. Re: Delete record script
          philmodjunk

You seem to be confusing "records" with "fields" in your post.

Have you tried using an Import Records with the "update matching" option? That might make for a two line script to do this:

Show All Records
          Import

• 2. Re: Delete record script
            MoOsman

I appreceate the fast respond! Yes, sorry. I did say I was a beginer. That being said, my excel file is updated often, so my original scrip alows me to link the file to my filemaker database. Allowing it to update to the content in excel everytime I run the scrips.

BUT, i want to keep one or two fields as is without them being affected by the scrips. For example, I have a file container with a photo, and a notes section with some key notes. Is there a way to protect those two from being erased/deleted? 

Thanks,

• 3. Re: Delete record script
              philmodjunk

The script I am suggesting meets each of those concerns though I'm not sure what you mean by "link the file to my filemaker database." as you  are copying data from it into your file--not linking to it.