12 Replies Latest reply on Apr 1, 2014 2:43 PM by leecy

Deleted Records Still Listed

leecy

Title

Deleted Records Still Listed

I am pretty new to Filemaker. I have a long list of student records entered. When I delete a record, it no longer appears in the Table View of the Layout. However, it sill shows in the Toolbar box that lists student IDs so that the toolbar ID number does not match the next record. Very confusing.

Example: I have a student record of Mary Jones. Her ID is 9. I have another student named Randy Casey. His ID is 10. When I delete Mary Jones from my records, she is no longer listed in the table view of the layout. However, when I scroll through records in the toolbar box, Randy Smith now comes up as #9 although he continues to be listed correctly among my records as # 10, his real ID.

Any suggestions as to how to match the layout # and the toolbar #  after I delete a record? The toolbar box doesn't delete the record, apparently.

Thanks for any help you can offer. Leecy

RecordDeleted.png

• 1. Re: Deleted Records Still Listed
          philmodjunk

You misunderstand the purpose of the number above the record slider. This is the record number not the record ID and does not show data from any field in your table. If you have a found set of 20 records and you see a 5 in that box, that means that your current record is the 5th record in your current found set.

So in the screen shot shown, you have a found set of 65 records and the current record is the 9th record in that found set. Please note that which record is the 9th record can be changed just by sorting the records into a different order.

• 2. Re: Deleted Records Still Listed
            leecy