1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Feb 10, 2012 4:10 AM by jball

Desperately need help!

jball

Title

Desperately need help!

I am new to developing any type of database and am working in Filemaker Pro 9.  I have so many problems I'm not quite sure where to begin!  In my company I have to create Purchase Orders, with unlimited amount of line items.  From these I need a "new contract notice", traveler form, invoicing (partial invoices per purchase order) and packing slips to be generated with the same information.  I've created a portal in my PO form to allow many line items, but can't get it to work:(

I've attached my tables .................any help is much appreciated!

• 1. Re: Desperately need help!
          philmodjunk

There is nothing attached to your post. A very generalized cry for help like this isn't something that we can easily respond to. Try breaking this down into smaller steps and post specific questions about one step at a time. Whith specific questions, we can then provide specific answers.

• 2. Re: Desperately need help!
            jball

Okay, I see my tables didn't post:(  I have a portal set up in my Purchase Order Form that is based on a "line Items" table.  Problem 1:  I need unlimited line items, and it cuts me off at 380.  Problem 2:  The field for "line item #" keeps indexing itself and all records show up as "1".  When I set the field not to index, I loose all the test info I've entered.

Once it get this solved, I need to find a way to carry it over into 4 other layouts.

Hope this is a little more descriptive. 

• 3. Re: Desperately need help!
              philmodjunk

You can use the controls below Post A Answer to upload a screen shot of Manage | database | Relationships. This cannot be a PDF, it has to be of type JPG, GIF or PNG. Uploaded files with other formats are ignored by the forum software.

It sounds like you have this basic set of tables and relationships:

PurchaseOrders---<LineItems>----Products