6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 25, 2014 7:30 AM by philmodjunk

Differences between relationships (1-1, 1-many, many-many)

RosieUnderwood

Title

Differences between relationships (1-1, 1-many, many-many)

I am just starting to learn about relationships, and I am confused as the to the differences between the three types….

I have a practice database already started by someone else which has six tables. The primary key/ unique ID is called individual and this is found in all six of the tables, so does this mean I don't have a foreign key? And what type of relationship is this? Is this a one to one- is that what the relationship links show below?

Screen_Shot_2014-02-25_at_13.22.52.png

• 1. Re: Differences between relationships (1-1, 1-many, many-many)
          RosieUnderwood
          /files/2cd5f07959/Screen_Shot_2014-02-25_at_13.22.52.png 117x208
          • 2. Re: Differences between relationships (1-1, 1-many, many-many)
            philmodjunk

What you see is FileMaker's guess as to what relationships might be possible. What controls the type of connecter you see (single line, crow's foot, Tee) depends on the field options you select for the match field. If the field is defined to auto-enter a serial number, or has a Unique Values validation defined, you see a single line like you would expect for the "1" in a 1 to many, many to one or 1 to 1 relationship. If the field is unstored or global, you see a "Tee" and this is a unique relations that isn't quite any of the standard text book relationships. If neither field is set up for unique values and is a indexible, stored field, you'll see crows feet on both as there are no built in limitations on the values that can be used. One record on one side of such a relationship can match to many records on the other, but the reverse is also true.