13 Replies Latest reply on Oct 18, 2011 9:16 PM by DavidJondreau

Disable (Keychain?) password recording?

dataWolf

Title

Disable (Keychain?) password recording?

How can I remove the ability to save the password? It seems like the stupidest thing in the world to allow end users to save their password. We tell them not to, but at least one person has saved their password so anyone who uses the computer can log in as them into sensitive data. How can I turn it off?

I don't know whether this is a FM thing or maybe it's keychain.If people are going to work at home I can't turn key chain off on their computers since I don't have access to their computers. But if someone knows how to disable the keychain if that's what is doing it, maybe I could at least require them to disable keychain (and hope they don't access from new computer).

As an administrator I would like the ability to "Do not allow user to save password". 

thanks!

• 1. Re: Disable (Keychain?) password recording?
          RickWhitelaw

Each person using a given machine should have an individual account on the machine. The machine should require a password even to unlock a screensaver and awake from sleep (and it should sleep after a very short time of inactivity). The problem isn't with FM. It's with lax machine-level security. If a person can't access the OS level account then they have no access to a Keychain. Simple!

RW

• 2. Re: Disable (Keychain?) password recording?
            FentonJones