5 Replies Latest reply on May 30, 2012 4:52 PM by philmodjunk

discount script

ChrisDurkee

Title

discount script

I have a simple portal invoice line item set up. Each line is an item that then has details for each item. So there could be several lines that are the same item, but different details. 

I am looking for a way for file maker to recognize multiple items and then discount them accordingly, for example if there are five lines with the same item (different details) then it will discount each of the items a dollar off. Then when there are 10, the 10th is free?

Thanks for any help as I am pretty new to Filemaker and scripting.

• 1. Re: discount script
          philmodjunk

Much depends on the "rules" you define for discounting and whether you want to record the discount as only a total amount at the bottom of your invoice or by deducting it from the unit price of the individual items in your lineItems portal. I'll stick with just a discount total for the entire invoice for now as it's a little simpler to set up.

I would assume you have these tables:

Invoices---<LineItems>----Products

You may be able to use fields in Products to document each type of applicable discount or you may want to establish a separate related table of discounts. The fields and data for documenting your example discounts might look like this:

ProductID   MinQty    MaxQty Dtype Damount
          1234             5            9         1      1.00
          1234             10         9999     2

And to get a count of total products for each ID for just the current invoice, make a new occurrence of LineItems and link it like this:

LineItems::ProductID = LineItemsSameProductInvoice::ProductID AND
          LineItems::InvoiceID = LineItemsSameProductInvoice::InvoiceID

You can define a calculation field, cInvoiceQty, as:

Sum (LineItemsSameProductInvoice::Qty )

To compute the total of each type of item ordered.

You'd link your discounts table to LineItems like this