8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 12, 2012 12:20 PM by gm1

Display a set of selected text entries inside a field

gm1

Title

Display a set of selected text entries inside a field

Hi,

I made a Value list and now I want to display a different set of selected entries from that list at each record inside a field -with no edit capablity. Each set will be between 1 and 100+ text entries so a vertical scroll bar will be needed.  I thought it could be done with calculation but it doesn't seem to have access to a value list -is that weird or what?

So, should I use a table instead (wich I find overkill) or am I missing something -as I'm a beginner? 

Is there a more direct way to do this?

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Display a set of selected text entries inside a field
          philmodjunk

A related table with a portal will probably be the easiest to set up, but a calculation can use the ValueListItems function to access the values in your value list as well.

• 2. Re: Display a set of selected text entries inside a field
            gm1

Thanks, I'll try this.

• 3. Re: Display a set of selected text entries inside a field
              gm1

I'm still stuck with this.

What I tried:

A)  I made a table and placed a series of list items as fields (1 record).

I related them with the database id.

Then I placed a portal and selected the related record and it asked which fields to display

Result: the fields were placed horizontally one next to the other. Not practical for more than a couple entries, there is not even a horizontal srcollbar. And when I switched to browser mode the fields were not visible.

I guess the portal has to do with multiple records while the list I'm making is global, not related to any specific record, like a pool that all records refer one or more entries.

B) With ValueListItems I was only able to display the whole list to each record.