7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 6, 2014 10:40 AM by philmodjunk

Display fields based on value of another field

TylerWray

Title

Display fields based on value of another field

Hi, everybody. 

I'm a newbie (like 98% of others here) using FM10 to develop a calendar-based survey tool for use in conducting research (I do public health research). Basically, the idea is that users are presented with a calendar of the last 30 days and they click on each day and answer questions about their behavior on each day. Ultimately, I'll need to have fields for each question within each day. I've been able to construct the calendar so far (using a pretty brutish method), and this basically uses buttons to call up a separate layout for each day that has day-specific fields in it. But, I'd like to be able to only display certain questions based on responses to other questions on the same day. For example, if I had a field storing how many drug use occasions a user had on a given day, I'd like to be able to present a set of questions about each occasion (whether that was 2 or 0). Anybody have any ideas about how I might accomplish this? 

I've attached my work-in-progress. Please excuse the mess, as I'm uploading it mid-stream! 

• 1. Re: Display fields based on value of another field
          philmodjunk

You cannot upload database files to this forum. It sounds like you are using a great many different fields where you should instead have a set of related records. With one record for each question, you can use the response to question #1 to determine what set of follow up question records to bring up next. This allows you to stay with a single layout, but bring up different sets of questions on that layout.

To start, I suggest that you review this thread on surveys and questionnaires: Need aid on generating a report from a survey layout.

You may also find this simple calendar demo file of interest: https://www.dropbox.com/s/e8d03xvwe8vtz85/Calendar.fp7