7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 17, 2011 9:34 AM by Ashtangakasha

Display Found Set alongside search fields in Form Mode?

Ashtangakasha

Title

Display Found Set alongside search fields in Form Mode?

I'm designing a simple email list db with a Form View "list builder." The view context is a People list with contact info fields. The goal is to perform a search of the People list and export the found set as a CSV or TSV file for uploading to an email service.

On the left side of a form I want to display a set of fields to use for searching. To provide the user with a view of the resulting subset of People, I want to provide, on the right side of the form, a scrollable list of the found set.

I had thought this might work with a portal, but I haven't found a way to reference the found set in a portal.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated. I'm a complete newbie with FMP11Adv, but I'm familiar with db concepts.

Allen

• 1. Re: Display Found Set alongside search fields in Form Mode?
          philmodjunk

You cannot put found sets in a portal. If you split your screen the other way, you may be able to use global fields in the header with the found set listed below instead of splitting your screen the other direction.

Given a few issues that can arise with editing global fields in the header, you may find it best to use a different layout and/or a pop up window for entering search criteria and then use the fields in the header to display the current criteria.

If you are unfamiliar with how to use global fields to search your database let me know.

PS. you may also be able to use a filtered portal to get the display that you want, but if you do, you'll need to add a script that replicates the filter expression's logic to perform a find to pull up the records in a found set when it comes time to export the data.

• 2. Re: Display Found Set alongside search fields in Form Mode?
            aammondd

You could add a field to your peoplelist to indicate found set.