10 Replies Latest reply on Apr 7, 2015 2:53 PM by philmodjunk

Display items from same table in tabbed layout

ScottJames_1

Title

Display items from same table in tabbed layout

Hi, I am new to using Filemaker Pro and appreciate any assistance even if it's directing me to a more suitable forum for such issues. 

I have a table with dog details on it. Each dog has a serial no ID. I wish to display other dogs from the same table on the layout as 'related dogs'. I want to display the picture and the name but cannot find a way to do this. 

For example: Dog 1 has a picture and other details shown on the first tab and another tab named 'Related' features the pictures and names of dogs 7 & 12.

Eventually, I will want to add the ability to click through to the featured dogs from this tab.

In the relationships area of 'Manage Database' it wants me to create another instance of the same table (I'm guessing this is to prevent a feedback loop) I have done this but cannot figure out how to display the related dogs. I can get the names to appear but the picture field shows the main dog's picture again...

If anyone can offer any help I'd be very grateful.

Many Thanks,

Scott 

• 1. Re: Display items from same table in tabbed layout
          philmodjunk

Is the picture in the same table as the names? If so, the same process that you are using to add the name fields from the newly related table occurrence (Instance) will work to show the picture. You can click any field while in layout mode and see the field's table occurrence name as the text to the left of :: in "Display Data From" on the Inspector's data tab.

• 2. Re: Display items from same table in tabbed layout
            ScottJames_1

Hi, Thanks for responding. I have obviously set something up wrong as the picture shown is the same as the main picture rather than a related dog...