1 2 Previous Next 21 Replies Latest reply on Dec 17, 2011 12:49 AM by db49er

Display multiple records from single table

db49er

Title

Display multiple records from single table

I have spent many days trawling the web for the solution to, what seems to be, a very simple task but without success.

I have one table containing several hundred records of Name and Contact details. I want to be able to select any ten of these records, at random, and display them in rows on a form which I can then publish as a single PDF page. So far, I have only managed to display the same record ten times!!!! I am new to FileMaker but have achieved more complicated tasks in other databases.

Thank you.

• 1. Re: Display multiple records from single table
          Sorbsbuster

You want to display the records in List View.  In layout mode set the Name and Contact details field in the Body section, just below the Header.  Slide the Body section up to remove any space below the fields.  In the Layout Menu choose Layout set up - Views - List view.

Return to Browse mode and make sure that in the View menu 'View as list' is selected.

In the Records menu choose Show ALl Records.  You should now be looking at a list of all the records.  You can print them as a pdf.

Although I am missing something else if you are seeing a list of the same record, on the same screen (page), listed 10 times.

• 2. Re: Display multiple records from single table
            db49er

I have designed a form which has ten rows to accept the data. I want to be able to select between one and ten names, of my choosing, to populate the rows i.e. scroll through the names in row one until I find the one I want, select it and move to row two and repeat etc. etc.

• 3. Re: Display multiple records from single table
              Sorbsbuster