2 Replies Latest reply on Jan 6, 2012 11:54 AM by kencohen

Displaying a new record from a related table

kencohen

Title

Displaying a new record from a related table

I’m at a level with FM where I’m learning to work with relationships. I’m a lawyer doing this as an amateur programming hobby (fun + frustrating :-)  which might eventually have practical uses.

Problem:

1. The database. 2 relevant tables: Transactions and a related table called Files. When a new record is created in Files, the ID (primary key) is an auto-enter serial number, and the file number is created by a calculation, without user intervention.
      2. The layout name: “Data Entry” (context: Transactions table). It will create new Transaction records. For each new record, it should also create and display a new related Files record containing a unique file number for the new transaction. The layout contains related fields from the Files table which display the new file number and other data.
      3. The relationship: the primary key field in the Files table (pk_files_id) is connected to the foreign key field in the Transactions table (fk_files_id).
      4. The script: The layout has a “new record” button which runs the following script:
      • New Record/Request # creates a new transaction record in the data entry table
      • Freeze Window

• Go to Layout [ “Files Table” (Files_New) ]  # “behind the scenes”
      • New Record/Request  # creates a new record in the Files table
      • Go to Layout [ original layout ] # back to Data Entry layout
      • Refresh Window # was supposed to update and display the related fields from the Files table

What I expected to happen is: after the script is run, there is a new Transactions record and a new Files record. The new Files record should appear in the related fields in the layout.

In actuality, a new Files record does get created, but nothing appears in the related Files fields in the layout.