6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 10, 2009 4:39 PM by patrickgreenetvg

Displaying common field information in different records

patrickgreenetvg

Title

Displaying common field information in different records

I have set up a DB, Table, forms and fields. What I need to do for a portion of the displayed information is to see the same common information in numerous records. The information I need to see is text of 200+- characters and I need to view it in the form view for various records. I also need that when I modify the text that I only modify the source information and then in subsequent viewing of records that new version of the information is what is displayed. 

Because of the length of the information it is not possible to use the pop up menu nor would the information in the records change when the pop up info is changed- which is really what I need.  

I bet this is simple and sorry if I have not explained the need correctly. Thanks in advance for the help. 

I am new to filemaker and using the following:

Filemaker 10.0V1

Mac OSX 10.6.2

Database not shared over a network 

• 1. Re: Displaying common field information in different records
          philmodjunk

The basic answer is to define a second table and store this text in a text field in this second table or to define a global text field (Set global storage in field options).

Which will work for you depends on details not given in your post.

Will ALL records see the same text or only certain records?

Will the database be shared over a network? (Global fields take on special properties when the DB is shared.)

• 2. Re: Displaying common field information in different records
            patrickgreenetvg

Phil, Thanks for the fast reply as I am trying to get this done.