7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 18, 2015 6:28 PM by jdwaggoner

Displaying data from a join table

jdwaggoner

Title

Displaying data from a join table

I'm pretty new to FileMaker, and things were working fine until I tried to access entries from a record in one table from another. I'm 99% sure I need a many-to-many relationship, and I tried to set up a join table according to the resources I found here and elsewhere.

I seem to be missing a step, though, because every layout I set up fails to return any entries. I'm sure this is a simple problem and it's just getting by me, but if someone could enlighten me I would really appreciate it!

Background: I am writing a solution for a group of people who judge marching band contests in the fall. I have a members table, and a show table for the contest information. I set up a layout related to the Shows table so I can select the members I need from the Members table for each category. I need to be able to display the following information on one layout, to be sent to the judges who are assigned to a particular show:

Host School, Date, each judge by category (i.e. Chief Judge), and that judge's email and telephone numbers.

That's where I get hung up. I can select a judge on the assign layout, but I cannot get that information to display on another layout, along with the email and telephone. 

As I said, this is probably pretty simple for you folks...I hope you can enlighten me as to what I'm missing!

FileMaker_Q3A.png

• 1. Re: Displaying data from a join table
          philmodjunk

I do not see any join table in your data model and the relationship between Members and Shows will not work as the large number of match fields listed for Shows pretty much insures that no record in members will match to any record in shows.