10 Replies Latest reply on Jun 10, 2013 12:25 PM by GuyStevens

Displaying data from one field depending on the data from another

DaveHardings

Title

Displaying data from one field depending on the data from another

Hi,

I have two tables: Table 1 & Table 2.  Each has a unique serial ID field and Table 2 has a foreign key field.  They are related by Table 1's serial ID and Table 2's foreign key field.

Table 1 has a Site Name.  Table 2 has a Group Name and Site Name field.  When I enter data into Table 2's Site Name field, I need the Group Name to display on Table 1 IF the Site Name in Table 2 matches the Site Name in Table 1.

I'm still very new to this program, so any help would be appreciated!

• 1. Re: Displaying data from one field depending on the data from another
          GuyStevens

Maybe you need something like this:

http://youtu.be/Sg4vyifqZEM

I think the structure in that file is two related tables.

And if you need any more info on learning to work with filemaker you might want to try this one:

http://youtu.be/5v2EzvaWyBk

• 2. Re: Displaying data from one field depending on the data from another
            DaveHardings

Thanks for the response,

I have actually viewed both of these earlier today...  Perhaps I am missing something.

• 3. Re: Displaying data from one field depending on the data from another
              GuyStevens

If you could (if there's no confidential data in your file) you might share it with us so we could have a look.

If you use dropbox you can put it in the public folder and share the public link with us.

Then we can see what you are doing wrong.

• 4. Re: Displaying data from one field depending on the data from another
                GuyStevens

I think where you might be going wrong is that you need to enter an ID in your IdFk field.

You can do that using a dropdown that shows the values from the other field but enters an ID.

That's the only way to properly relate two tables together.