2 Replies Latest reply on Nov 27, 2013 8:07 AM by KennethChristy

Displaying results from multiple files?

KennethChristy

Title

Displaying results from multiple files?

Good Morning,

I am very new to Filemaker.  I found it on my work computer the other day and have been "playing with it."  I love the simplicity for making databases, but I'm stumped with something that I'm assuming should be real easy to do.  Unfortunately, I can't find any instruction manuals in my office so I've reached a brick wall with what I'm trying to do.

Basically I have 2 files.  1 file contains the personal information of my students.  Each student has a unique student id.  The second file contains student_id, Absent Date, Reason.  If the student has been absent 5 times, for example, there are 5 lines starting with the student id and one absent date on each line. like this:

123456,11/2/2013,4

123456,11/3/2013,4

123456, 11/6/2013,4

423416,9/5/2013, 4   <------different student

Is there any way to link these two files in FMP so if I put in the student id in the search field it will return student name, address and phone number from the first file and the absent dates from the 2nd file?

Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: Displaying results from multiple files?
          philmodjunk

While this can be made to work, why did you create two separate files?

What you describe here are two different tables and these can be defined in the same file--which is an easier approach for new developers than using separate files.

You can use Import Records | file with "new table" selected in the target table drop down to import the entire table from one file to another.

Or you can go to Manage | Database | Relationships, click the button at far bottom left and select "add fileMaker data source" to select the table from your other file. This sets up a new table occurrence linked to the table in your other file.