1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Dec 18, 2009 7:32 AM by DLW-BPEX

Document Control Management

salejune

Title

Document Control Management

I'm new to FileMaker Pro and I 've heard you can use it for Document Control.  Has anyone used FileMaker for this purpose?

• 1. Re: Document Control Management
          ninja

Howdy salejune,

Welcome to the forum.

The short answer to your question is "Yes, every single day".

But document control needs vary greatly, what kind of doc control technique/system/arrangement do you have in mind?

Keep in mind that FMP is a blank slate...you can build just about anything with it, but YOU have to build it.  It is not a pre-packaged document control program that you can start data entry into the day you unwrap the discs.  FMP is not "Iso compliance made easy" though there are some programs available for that limited purpose.

What is it that you are looking for?  Doc control only, or a modifiable database that can grow wih you?

• 2. Re: Document Control Management
            salejune

Basically, it will be for document control.  I've not had to inquire about anything like this before since I've usually worked in large companies where they had this already set up.  This is all new for me.  Our company will be growing and they've asked me to look into this. 

So you're able to upload documents into FMP and have multiple people have an opportunity to review etc? 

• 3. Re: Document Control Management
              ninja

salejune wrote:

So you're able to upload documents into FMP and have multiple people have an opportunity to review etc? 

Review, yes.  No problem.  That's a good use for Containor fields.

Note that you'll likely use another program to view them through (FMP can store a reference to the file, but you'll want to open it in MSWord or other) which can be done easily by double-clicking the field in FMP.