8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 25, 2013 8:30 AM by philmodjunk

Don't know verbiage, can't find solution for if field(a) = value(x) then field(b) gets value(y)

JeffCas

Title

Don't know verbiage, can't find solution for if field(a) = value(x) then field(b) gets value(y)

Hello, 

I've been using FMP for about 8 years, but have never taken my game to the next level.

I have 2 fields per record that I am trying to streamline- account name and account type.

Basically on a new record there are many options for account name and account type, but some account names come up frequently and they are always the same account type.

Looking for a way to have account type automatically populate with the correct information for some of my account names.

Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: Don't know verbiage, can't find solution for if field(a) = value(x) then field(b) gets value(y)
          symbister

Ok, sounds like you need a script with something like the following:

If [yourtable::yourfielda = valuex]
                      Set field [yourtable::yourfieldb ; valuey]
               Else
                      Set field [yourtable::yourfieldb ; ""] // sets fieldb to blank - if that's what you wanted...
               End If

Then you use this in the yourtable::yourfielda as a script trigger OnObjectModify

• 2. Re: Don't know verbiage, can't find solution for if field(a) = value(x) then field(b) gets value(y)
            philmodjunk

Set up a table of account names and types. Link it by account name to your current table. Use a looked up value auto-enter field option to copy the matching type into your type field. If there is no matching record--it's not a common type, nothing get's entered and you can edit the type by hand.

This method also makes adding/removing/changing account names and types for this auto-enter feature a data-entry task. You don't have to redesign a script or calculation to implement such a change.