1 2 Previous Next 25 Replies Latest reply on Dec 9, 2013 1:53 PM by DouglasCourter

Drop Down box to filter report

DouglasCourter

Title

Drop Down box to filter report

I am very new to FM, but I have tried to read posts similar to my need, but can't find an answer. I have several reports that require someone to pick one value from a drop down box and the report would be filtered by that selection. Example: I have a Travelers table and a Trips table which are linked by Traveler ID. I want to see details on trips that only one person has taken. I can get the report to list every trip that everyone has taken, but I need a way to select a Traveler and see only his/her trips. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: Drop Down box to filter report
          DouglasCourter

I have found one way that seems to sort of work for my first question, but I have a follow-up. In the same database as before, I need to filter a report with a portal by date. I need to be able to pick from a Value List of dates, then have the portal display only records in which a field matches the date picked from the list. I tried using a Global field, but couldn't find out how to set a Global field based on my selection from the Values List. Thoughts?

• 2. Re: Drop Down box to filter report
            philmodjunk

I tried using a Global field, but couldn't find out how to set a Global field based on my selection from the Values List.

The field formatted with the value list should be your global field. Then selecting a value in it can cause your portal to update automatically with the selected value. The global field should be included as a match field in the portal's underlying relationship.

• 3. Re: Drop Down box to filter report
              DouglasCourter