6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 11, 2013 3:46 PM by PaulCane

Drop down menu item as a goto record

PaulCane

Title

Drop down menu item as a goto record

Hi, I have a home screen that I want to put a drop down box on, with customer name in, and when you select a customer name, it will take you to that customer record in a customer layout.

I have the drop down box showing the names, but the scrips I've tried don't work (except one that opens a new record with the selected name as a new customer :( )

Any help would be appreciated

Paul

• 1. Re: Drop down menu item as a goto record
          philmodjunk

Make the drop down list field a field with global storage specified for it, then use a script such as those posted as examples here:

Scripted Find Examples

• 2. Re: Drop down menu item as a goto record
            PaulCane

Thank you for a quick reply, I'm a total newbie to scripting, and had a problem trying to use;

Go To Layout [Select a layout based on table being searched]
            Enter Find Mode [] ---> clear the pause check box
            Set Field [YourTable::YourField ; Globals::gField]
            Set Error Capture [on] ----> Keeps error dialog from interrupting script when no records are found
            Perform Find []
            If [Not Get ( FoundCount ) // no records were found ]
                Show Custom Dialog ["No records were found by this search."]
            End IF

but had problems entering  Globals::gField in the Set Field line

the script thing also objected to the Show Custom Dialog bit......

Thanks

Steve

• 3. Re: Drop down menu item as a goto record
              philmodjunk