3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 27, 2011 11:04 AM by philmodjunk

Drop down menus

DavidEnns

Title

Drop down menus

I'm evaluating FP11 to see if it can meet my needs so I'm very new to database programming. When I enter a new value in a drop down menu and then tab to the next field I want that drop down menu to automatically update with the new value. As it stands now I have to click outside any field and then click the drop down menu for the new value to be in the menu.

How can I auto update the drop down field with the new value when I tab to the next field. Thanks.

• 1. Re: Drop down menus
          philmodjunk

How have you defined your value list for this drop down list?

I think you have specified that the value list list values from the same field you have formatted as a drop down list. If so, the record must be committed (and this happens when you click the layout background), before the value is available to the value list.

You can use this script with an OnObjectSave script trigger to commit the record when you tab into the next field:

Commit Record

However, that could raise other issues if you do not want the record to be committed yet.

• 2. Re: Drop down menus
            DavidEnns

Its 'sortof' working but not correctly. The way I've set everything up is causing my problem. Let's see if I can explain what I'm doing based on my limited knowledge of terminilogy.

1 Tables named trails & obstacles

2 Each table has a field called trail ID and obstacle ID. I've linked the fields trails::trail_ID to obstacles::trail_ID and trails::obstacle_ID to obstacles::obstacle_ID

3 On my Trails layout (linked to the trails table) I have a portal (I believe this is what you call it) to the obstacle table.

4 My drop down menu (trails::obstacle_ID) is located on a tab in the trails layout.