4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 20, 2010 2:25 PM by cmspe

Drop-Down Lists/Pop-up menu to populate another drop-down list based on the value chosen.

cmspe

Title

Drop-Down Lists/Pop-up menu to populate another drop-down list based on the value chosen.

I am using FM Pro 10 on using MacOS X Snow Leopard and am looking to change from Microsoft Access to FM Pro 10, but need help with differences between the two.  I'm doing the 30-day trial to see if this program will do what Access does for me.  I am a teacher who wants a layout that when I select a teacher from a drop-down list, it populates another drop-down list with the periods that teacher teaches.  When I select the period I want, a list appears showing all students in that class ordered alphabetically.  I'm used to unbound text boxes and updating other unbound text boxes or displaying info in a listbox.

• 1. Re: Drop-Down Lists/Pop-up menu to populate another drop-down list based on the value chosen.
          philmodjunk

Here's a thread on setting up conditional value lists:

Custom Value List?

Another useful tool to look up in Filemaker's Help system is a "Portal" this almost exactly the same thing as a "sub Form" or "Sub report" in MS Access. This tool would be very useful for displaying your "...list ... showing all students in that class ordered alphabetically."

• 2. Re: Drop-Down Lists/Pop-up menu to populate another drop-down list based on the value chosen.
            cmspe