6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 31, 2009 9:05 AM by bkeena00

Drop-down menu selection stalling application

bkeena00

Title

Drop-down menu selection stalling application

Hi there,

I am pretty new to using FikeMaker and could really use some help with this problem I'm having. I am using FileMaker 8.5 by the way on Windows XP. Using a database I have inherited from the person who was previously doing my job. One drop-down menu file, when I select any of the options, the entire application freezes. Nothing works until I either delete the entry or forcefully shut the program down via task manager. If I shut the programme down the entry I have entered is not there when restarted.

I have tried removing all the records in the fields and then reimporting them from a excell doc. This makes no difference at all.

Can anyone suggest some solutions to this please. As I said, I am new to the world of FileMaker so any suggests or help would be very gratefully appreciated.

Thanks,

Brian

• 1. Re: Drop-down menu selection stalling application
          raybaudi

Hi Brian

Can you look and say us IF there is a calculation into the auto-enter option of that field ( or into the validation option )?

And, if there is one, can you write it down here ?

• 2. Re: Drop-down menu selection stalling application
            bkeena00

Hi Daniele,

thanks for assisting. I have checked and there is no calculation. I have tried directly selecting the relationship I need by creating new record, but the problem is with the validation in some way. This is the message I get each time.