3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 22, 2010 10:07 PM by aussie_ben

Drop-down menu to populate a second field

aussie_ben

Title

Drop-down menu to populate a second field

I am a newb but am making progress towards a simple database for a not-for-profit gourp. My experience is basically NIL.

Structure:

Table A: Location (dropdown list from Table B), Location Rate (see question below), Attendee Name, Arrival Date, Departure Date, Total Days (Calculate: Departure Date - Arrival Date), Total Cost (Calculate: Location Rate x Total Days x 'Table C-DailyRate')

Table B: Location, Location Rate

Table C:DailyRate (global field)

I  have sucessfully implemented the drop down value list in 'Table A - Location' from values 'Table B - Location' but want to get the Location Rate to come across also.

How do I get the Location Rate to come across when I make or change a selection in the Location Drop Down menu, thus making the calculation of the Total Cost for an attendee?

I appreciate any help in this regard. I'm using FM9 on Mac 10.5.8

I can also post screen shots of relationship or field types etc if that helps!

Ben

• 1. Re: Drop-down menu to populate a second field
          Jade

Hi,

Does your relationship graph link Table_B -< Table_A (one-to-many) using Location as the key?  

(If yes, I suggest that use a separate, auto-enter, serial number for the primary/foreign key instead because the Location text can change and may not be unique.)

The Location_Rate on Table_A is probably for a specific attendee on a particular date.  Since location rates can change over time, I would use a Lookup which copies the current Location_Rate into Table_A from Table_B.   That way, the rate on Table_A remains the same even if it is changed on Table_B later.