9 Replies Latest reply on Jan 18, 2012 9:46 AM by Alejosor

Due Date Invoices

Alejosor

Title

Due Date Invoices

Hello.

I have a query with regards some calculations.

What I want to do is to add a field on an invoice statement that shows me how much a client ows our company say in 30, 60 days period.

Say for example our company issued 2 invoices to one client over a period of 2 months and the total outstanding amount lets say is £9,500.50 and they have paid us in different installements and different amounts towards the two invoices but have not paid all.

Now, what do I need to do in order that FileMaker show us how much a client ows our company in invoices that are overdue for more than 30, 60, etc days.

Please see the image below so you can see what I have been doing wrong.

On the image it gives me a value of 4,500, when the value should be 3,500.

Bear in mind I am not an expert.

Thanks.

invoice.jpg

• 1. Re: Due Date Invoices
          philmodjunk

Selectively "summing" related records is a frequent issue here in the forum. Using an if function like this (or a case statement) enables you to either sum all related records (expression evaluates as true) or no related records (Expression evaluates as false). It will not sum a selected sub set of the related records.

To get a selective sum requires either a selective relationship (so that only records meeting the 30 day "age" criteria, for example are related) or a filtered portal with a summary field defined in the portal's table (The filter expression would limit the related records to the specified 60 day "age".)

The exact details for how to do this depend on the relationships and table you already have in place.