5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 16, 2009 11:06 AM by keller714

Duplicate Fields without Duplicating

keller714

Title

Duplicate Fields without Duplicating

Hello,

I'm new to FileMaker Pro and am trying to set up a database for work, which is going fairly well so far; however, I am currently stuck.  Ideally I need several fields (probably 20) to type a book title in with each field having a different title.  However, I would like each field to be called "Title."  Is this possible?

If not, how can I set it up so that each field can be called something new (Title 1, Title 2 ...) but still create a relationship to populate the information into an individual record? 

Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: Duplicate Fields without Duplicating
          raybaudi

Hi keller714

> Ideally I need several fields (probably 20) to type a book title in with each field having a different title.  However, I would like each field to be called "Title."  Is this possible?

I think that what you really need is several records of a related table.

• 2. Re: Duplicate Fields without Duplicating
            keller714

Daniele,

How would I go about setting this up?

K. 

• 3. Re: Duplicate Fields without Duplicating
              davidanders
                 These may be useful

Database normalization From Wikipedia
              http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Database_normalization

White Paper for FMP Novices
              http://www.foundationdbs.com/downloads.html

• 4. Re: Duplicate Fields without Duplicating
                TSGal

keller714:

To set this up, do the following:

Pull down the File menu and select "Manage -> Database".  Click on the Tables tab and add a new table "SubTable" (you can always rename it later).  Click the Fields tab and add the field "ID" (Number) and "Title" (Text).