7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 22, 2014 7:51 PM by Shinobi

Duplicate Records

Shinobi

Title

Duplicate Records

I am new to FileMaker and wanting to create a trust database. Please can someone explain simply how to stop duplicate records?

For example a Trustee is a trustee for multiple trusts. I want to have just one record rather than the same person entered in multiple times.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

• 1. Re: Duplicate Records
          RickWhitelaw

You need to tell us about your tables and relationships before we can give you advice. Not enough information in your question.

• 2. Re: Duplicate Records
            Shinobi

Oops sorry, Ok so for my tables I have the main Trust table then I have – Roles (has trustee, has beneficiary etc) – Entity (natural persons, Company etc)

For my relationships I have the TrustID in my Trust table going to TrustID in my Role table then from my Role table I have EntityID going to EntityID on my Entity table.

Many thanks for your help

• 3. Re: Duplicate Records
              dejosejimpaul

Hi Shinobi, good evening. Base on my understanding of your problem, you don't want to have a duplicate value on your Roles table which contains both TrustID and EntityID. If this is the case at least from my point of view, you would want the combination of your RolesID (from your Roles table), TrustID (from your Trust table), and EntityID (from your Entity table) to be unique and the way you could do that is to add a calculation field to your Roles table that concatenates these three fields and has a validation set to "unique".

Say you have a calculation field named ConcatenatedID and have a calculation like below:

RolesID & TrustID & EntityID

after defining the calculation above, you would then set this field's validation to unique by checking "unique" on the "Validation" tab.