11 Replies Latest reply on Nov 30, 2012 9:51 AM by philmodjunk

Duplicating invoices

jessicaemler

Title

Duplicating invoices

I am running into an issue with duplicating records.

I am trying to figure out a way to duplicate records in my invoices/work order section of my database.

When i go into the data entry portion of my invoice/record, and click "Duplicate record" it makes a duplicate of the record, with the client information, but none of the other information. (line items, descriptions, and pricing)

I have tried to set up a script for this, copy pasting the invoicing information to the duplicate record, but there is more than one information field, so this process doesnt work.

I am fairly new to filemaker, so the answer may be staring me in the face....

• 1. Re: Duplicating invoices
          philmodjunk

First, don't use the copy/paste scripts steps for this, there are much better alternatives that leave any data the user may have copied to the clipboard intact.

Here's a thread that duplicates a BOM--a bill of materials. It has the same basic structure as an invoice--a parent record and a set of related records. You should be able to adapt it to your needs simpy by using your table and field names in place of those used in the script.

Duplicating Bill Of Materials (duplicating portal line items)

Feel free to post follow up questions here, by using the Post A Answer box if you need help with this script example. (Don't post them to the thread I've suggested here as they will likely not be seen by other users or me.)

• 2. Re: Duplicating invoices
            jessicaemler

Not sure what happened, I set up the script as indicated in the BOM post.

When I ran the script, it made about 16 duplicates.

Unfortunately, i dont have advanced, so i cant run the script debugger.

I have attached a screen shot of the script. Can you see whats wrong with it?

• 3. Re: Duplicating invoices
              philmodjunk