14 Replies Latest reply on May 27, 2010 1:30 PM by Miyamoto

Duplicating records with portal information intact

Miyamoto

Title

Duplicating records with portal information intact

Help!

I'm a newb, creating a database based on the "Events Management" template. I'm using Filemaker Pro 10 on OSX 10.6.3. I really haven't changed the structural hierarchy of the database template at all -- tables and layouts have retained their names for the most part.

What I'm looking to do is find a way to duplicate Event records and retain portal information from the record being copied. The events that I'm managing in many cases happen over the course of several days with slightly varying contacts associated -- but in some cases its 40 contacts that I'm dealing with, and there must be a better way than re-entering the data for each event instance (I need to keep each day as a separate record for budgeting purposes).

Any advice? Thanks in advance!

• 2. Re: Duplicating records with portal information intact
          ryan

are the contacts in a separate table?

if so, what relationship have you established betweens the Contacts table and the Events table?

• 3. Re: Duplicating records with portal information intact
            philmodjunk

I see two ways to interpret your post:

1) you want the duplicated record to display the same exact records in its portal as the the original

2) You want the portal records to be duplicated also and these duplicates should appear in the portal fo the new parent record.

• 4. Re: Duplicating records with portal information intact
              Miyamoto

Hi Phil,

Option one -- I'd like the duplicated record to display the exact same records in its portal as the original. Any help would be HUGELY appreciated.

Thanks!

• 5. Re: Duplicating records with portal information intact
                Miyamoto

Yes, contacts are in a separate table. I haven't altered anything from the template's format, in terms of relationships.