9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 16, 2011 8:15 AM by philmodjunk

Dynamic Layouts: Automatically add fields to layout.

tedus

Title

Dynamic Layouts: Automatically add fields to layout.

Is there a way that I can set up a script (or anything) to automatically add as fields to a layout?

I'm a teacher and everytime I create another test in the assesments table I want it to be automatically added to my stundent 'marks book' layout.

Example:

List View

[Body]

Field1               Field2     Field3 ... etc

StudentName      Test1     Test2  ... etc

Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Dynamic Layouts: Automatically add fields to layout.
          DavidJondreau

It's a little unclear how the tables in your database are confirgured. Could you explain a little bit more?

You should have (at least): a Students table, a Tests table, and a Student Test Join table. Adding a test means adding a record to the Tests table and a record for each student in the Student Test Join table. You shouldn't be adding new fields to account for new tests.

DJ

• 2. Re: Dynamic Layouts: Automatically add fields to layout.
            tedus

Hey DJ, thanks so much for the reply. Sorry about not being clear. This is my first attempt at Filemaker (and databases).

I do have a student table, test table and a student to test join table. (This took me a while to get my head around.)

My first problem: When I create a new test for my students I need to create 60 odd individual records for each student sitting that test in the join table. This I have fixed for now with a very unpleasant looking script button that creates  the records on a button click.

My current problem: Each time I create an assessment (above) I want it to appear on a "marksbook" layout so that I can enter results for students in a particular class(es) and compare them with all their previous results.

eg

Student1 Test1result Test2result etc (Test3result field should "pop" up when Test3 has been created)