3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 2, 2012 5:41 AM by philmodjunk

Dynamic Text Header problem

NilsMortenAlexandersen

Title

Dynamic Text Header problem

Hello Forum

I am fairly new to Filemaker, so if my question seems silly, please forgive me ;-)

I want to make a Dynamic text header, that shows all my Sub Categories for a spesific record
      So far ... I have managed to come up with this ....

<<Sub Kategori>> <<Sub Kategori[2]>> <<Sub Kategori[3]>>

This gives me a text string with spaces between the names ...

Example1 Example 2 Example 3
      I really want someting like Example 1, Example 2, Example 3
      If Sub Category 2 wan not entered i want something like Example 1, Example 3

Questions ..

How do I put an ", " sign at the end of the names (except the last one), if there are more than one Sub Category entry ?How do I get a continuous text stream (without double spaces) if  i.e. Sub Category 1 and 3 (not 2) are entered ?

Thanks in advance

Nils

• 1. Re: Dynamic Text Header problem
          philmodjunk

You are using a repeating field. Usually, there are better options for structuring your data that do not require using repeating fields.

But working with what you currently have, define a calculation field as:

Substitute ( List ( Sub Kategori ) ; ¶ ; ", " )

And then put this caculation field on your layout in place of the merge text. List will drop out any blank repetitions and substitute puts a comma and space in place of the returns that list uses to separate the values extracted from the repeating field.

• 2. Re: Dynamic Text Header problem
            NilsMortenAlexandersen

Thanks a lot. That really made a difference.

With regards to your comment about using repeting fields.

What structiring method would you use ?

Thanks a bunch

Nils

• 3. Re: Dynamic Text Header problem
              philmodjunk