3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 4, 2011 10:30 AM by philmodjunk

Dynamically Generated Summaries and Statistics

lime_tree

Title

Dynamically Generated Summaries and Statistics

Hello, I am quite new to File Maker and I have started working on a sales database, which requires several complex functions that I cannot seem to properly do, they are listed below, if someone would be able to help me solve these problems or give advice on the approach, I would greatly appreciate that.

About the database:

It has 4 sales reps that gather contact details from potental customers and move theese contacts through 8 stages, from introduction to our ptoduct to a closed sale. The main purpose of this database (aslde from gathering contact information) is to track performance of the 4 sales reps as the commision they get is based on the number of contacs they add to the database, and how many they manage to close.

1) In the main layout of the database there is a section that needs to show various summary data on performance of each rep. This will be used as a motivational tool. Is this possible?

2) If it is, the summary section will need to show the tree sections below. The first section of summary data is a list of 10 potential customers at the last stage of the sales process - the ones that are ready to close the sale.

This list does not depend on the sales rep name, it depends on the stage number that the potential customer is on and the estimated closing date. The question here is: how do I show top 10 records independently of the rep name and how do I make sure that it is dynamically generated? I tried doing it via a portal, but it only shows one record every time.

3) The next section needs to show a count of potential customers at different stages for each sales rep. Example below:

Rep #1 - total number contacts in stage 1+2, 3+4, 5+6, 7+8.

Rep #2 - total number contacts in stage 1+2, 3+4, 5+6, 7+8.

And so on...