7 Replies Latest reply on Oct 9, 2014 3:28 PM by philmodjunk

E-mail Notification

ChrisCameron

Title

E-mail Notification

I am somewhat new to Filemaker Pro. I am working on a Vehicle Maintenance database. The customer would like to have email notifications sent to their email a week before an inspection is due. I have all of the fields set-up and even have a script in place to automatically detect the due date by the previous date the inspection was done. I have a report set-up that they currently run monthly to see all of the inspections that are due that month but I am not sure if email notification can be set-up instead of or in addition to running the report. Thanks.

• 1. Re: E-mail Notification
          philmodjunk

The email can even send the report to them as an attached PDF.

But step one is to make sure that you can get FileMaker's send mail to work on their system. It will either use their systems email client program (if compatible with FileMaker) or it can use an SMTP mail server to send out the email notifications.

Try using Send Mail from the File Menu to send an email to yourself. Try this on the client's computer so that you can see if there are any issues on their system.

Once you can do that manually, the same dialogs can be used to set up the Send Mail script step to send out the email. So at that point it becomes a matter of scheduling the script to take place on a regular basis.

How you do that can depend on how the database solution is set up. If you are hosting the file from FileMaker Server, a Server schedule can be used to schedule the script and it can use SMTP (a requirement when the script is run "server side") to send out this email.

But there are also ways to send this out on a regular schedule "client side" and/or from a file not hosted by server.

• 2. Re: E-mail Notification
            ChrisCameron