4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 16, 2014 9:13 AM by robertjordan

easy question i'm sure...

robertjordan

Title

easy question i'm sure...

I am new to FileMaker and I'm sure this is an easy question,

I have 7 fields, TransferedDays, sickT, sickE, LapseE, PersonalT, Absent and Jury.

I have a Balance field, I want to take the number in the TransferedDays field and have it add to the Balance Field when there is something in the TransferedDays Field, otherwise move on.

Then I want to take any number entered into the remaining six fields ( some fields might not be entered into) and subtract that from the balance if there is something entered into them.

So my balance field keeps a running total each time data is entered, I have a button with a script to create a record on another table and show every entry in a portal as well, that works great! 

Be nice if i could hit the button to enter the record and clear the above fields in the same process, not sure if that's possible.

I'm sure it is easy, but i can wrap my head around what to do! any help or thoughts would be greatly appreciated! 

• 1. Re: easy question i'm sure...
          philmodjunk

Then I want to take any number entered into the remaining six fields ( some fields might not be entered into) and subtract that from the balance if there is something entered into them...that works great!

So you can get the running total that you want? let me know if this is not the case.

A button can run a script to clear all the fields in the current record:

Set field [ YourTable::TransferedDays ; "" ]
          Set field [ YourTable::sickT ; "" ]
          Set field [ YourTable::sickE ; "" ]
          Set field [ YourTable::LapseE ; "" ]
          Set field [ YourTable::PersonalT ; "" ]
          Set field [ YourTable::Absent ; "" ]
          Set field [ YourTable::Jury ; "" ]