4 Replies Latest reply on May 5, 2009 9:39 AM by philmodjunk

Easy to use with ASP.NET?  Special hosting needs?

robertnzana

Title

Easy to use with ASP.NET?  Special hosting needs?

I am new to the Mac World.  I am an ASP.NET/website developer - usually used to using MS Access, SQL Server and MySQL.

Does FileMaker Pro do true relational db? If so, should I consider using FileMaker Pro for my databases?  What's the advantage(s) over Access, etc...?  Is it easy to use and deploy?  Any special concerns or hosting needs? 

• 1. Re: Easy to use with ASP.NET?  Special hosting needs?
          TSGal

robertnzana:

Thank you for your post.

Yes, FileMaker Pro is a true relational database.  I'm not familiar with Access, but I believe Access only runs on Windows, where FileMaker Pro runs on both Windows and Macintosh computers.  There are several Access users on this forum, so they should be able to give you a better idea.

There are no special needs for hosting.  You may want to see the documentation for FileMaker Server on our web site at:

http://www.filemaker.com/support/product/documentation.html

Click on "FileMaker Server 10 and FileMaker Server 10 Advanced" topic, and start skimming through the "Getting Started Guide".  If you want to post the information to the web, take a look at "Custom Web Publishing with PHP" and/or "Custom Web Publishing with XML and XSLT".  These show possible configurations for setting up server, web server, etc.

TSGal

FileMaker, Inc. 

• 2. Re: Easy to use with ASP.NET?  Special hosting needs?
            philmodjunk

Speaking as someone who has done a great deal of development with both Filemaker and MS Access, here's a quick break down on some key differences between the two products.

Filemaker Advantages:

1. Quick development cycle. You can quickly get a fully functional DB up and running much faster with a much smaller Man-Hour cost than MS Access for most desktop DB tasks.