6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 11, 2010 1:40 PM by philmodjunk

Edit Value LIst (Using Value LIst from another file)

MacMonkey

Title

Edit Value LIst (Using Value LIst from another file)

Hello,

I am new to FMP11 and I am trying to crosswalk my MS Access knowledge over to FMP version 11.  I am trying to put together a simple drop down for a group called Family.  I created a table with all the Family names listed.  I opened my "Collection" table and sought to define a drop down using the value list route.

I am able to map to the file that I want to open, but I do not get a "value list" in the define menu.  I get a shadow below the Value List.  It looks like it is trying to make a read connection, but fails to bring back any information from the table.  I have checked to make sure the data types are the same.  They are text fields. 

Any advice?

• 1. Re: Edit Value LIst (Using Value LIst from another file)
          philmodjunk

Your text field holding family names should be a stored indexed field--and indexing turns on automatically when you unless you specifically select otherwise for the field--so that's unlikely to be the cause here...

I'm not sure I follow your description on how you are setting up your value list. Compare what you've done to these steps.

Select Manage | Value Lists... from the File menu

Click New

Click the Use Values from field option

Select your Families table from the drop down and click the Family field to highlight it.

Leave all other settings in their default settings and click OK.

Enter Layout and select the field on your Collections layout you want to format.

Use the Inspector pallet to specify a drop down list, pop-up menu, check boxes or radio buttons

Select the value list you created in Manage | Value Lists...

Return to Browse mode and test

• 2. Re: Edit Value LIst (Using Value LIst from another file)
            fitch

If you want to show only names for the related family, see if this helps.