5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 17, 2010 2:26 PM by philmodjunk

Editing layout  -  File Maker 6

jwichert

Title

Editing layout  -  File Maker 6

I am new to File Maker Pro software and work for a machine shop who has since 2000 been using Filemaker.  We have layouts that handle our accounts and inventory and when we ship orders we subtract out from the accounts and when we manufacture we add to to our inventory. My problem is that some items in the inventory list will automatically update when adding or subtracting the inventory on certain accountsfrom a different layout, how do I edit the layout to automatically update the inventory layout when adding or subtracting inventory from the account layouts or tie them together?

I hope I am making sense.

Thank you!

• 1. Re: Editing layout  -  File Maker 6
          philmodjunk

Chances are that modifying the layout won't fix this as the problem is more likely to be due to problems with the relationships linking your files, any scripts that get run to do the update and the data stored in the fields that are used to link the files.

Thus, we need to know more about your database. What relationships have been defined linking your various filemaker files?

Do you click any buttons or choose a script from the file menu to update inventory?

If so, we need to see the script that executes when you update inventory.

• 2. Re: Editing layout  -  File Maker 6
            jwichert