0 Replies Latest reply on Mar 30, 2010 1:25 PM by Anas

Editing related table records through original table and saving results to portal

Anas

Title

Editing related table records through original table and saving results to portal

Hi,

i am new in Filemaker. I use Pro 10 Advanced.

I am building a medical database with two tables at the moment:

1) containing the patient's SocialHistory (age, place of birth, etc)

2) containing the records of their MedicalExamination. If one patient is examined more than once, there will be two or more medical examination records linked to his socialHistory,

so i made a relationship with the SocialHistory's unique Nr.

In the second tab of the SocialHistory layout  i have a button with a script, which is crating a new medicalExamination record. Actually it was set up to then jump to a portal in the SocialHistory layout (without skipping to the MedicalExamination record - by freezing the window)) where i could enter the symptoms for example. The idea is that when the patients comes for the second examination by running the script again i could create a new record in the MedicalExamination table, but stay in the SocialHistory layout, both having access to his past results (second row of portal).

But: