7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 19, 2011 9:38 AM by philmodjunk

Editing Starter Solutions

DanDavison

Title

Editing Starter Solutions

I am very new to data management, and have been using the starter solutions and tweeking them in order to customise the interface to do what is required. I have hit a bit of a wall though and do not understand how to overcome it. I am using the event management starter solution. I want to change the wording of the status section in the events tab- I am probably being stupid here but I don't know how to do it especially so that it still works in showing the numbers attending etc (obviously my alternative wording to attending though). I would also like to add a way of showing on the individual contact details layout which events they have already attended. How would I go about making these changes? Thanks

• 1. Re: Editing Starter Solutions
          philmodjunk

I opened a copy of Event Manager and don't see a "status section" in the events tab? Can you describe that in more detail?

If you mean the grey strip across the top of the screen and that you want to change next to the green "pie chart" that shows how many records are in your current found set, that section cannot be modified exect to hide or reveal it all together. (You can, however, customize the tool bar or hide this section and add your own controls to show the same info but customized to suit your preferences.)

I would also like to add a way of showing on the individual contact details layout which events they have already attended.

In Manage | Database | Relationships, you'll need to add a new table occurrence of Events_Guests, link it to Contacts. Then add a new table occurrence of Events to link to the new TO of Events_Guests and then you can place a portal to Events_Guests to your contacts layout to list events that contact has signed up to attend. If you have FileMaker 11, you can set a portal filter on the portal to limit the records to those of past events.